JULY 3, 2024 - NewsBank is currently experiencing a technical interruption to some of their systems and services.
NewsBank offers access to thousands of newspapers, including a few local newspapers. Access in-house or 24/7 remotely using a SSPL Library card.
Explore your family history with the premier collection of U.S. obituaries and death notices for in-depth genealogical research from 1704 – today. Access remotely using SSPL library card or in-house.
HeritageHub helps you easily identify relatives, uncover new information and potentially unknown family members. Includes deep coverage from all 50 states, hard-to-find content from the mid 1900’s, and original obituary images.
The Ancestor Hunt – Resource guide makes it easy to browse records by category such as newspapers, yearbooks, obituaries, BMD, alumni, birth, cemetery, church, coroner, criminal, death, digital archives, divorce, directories, institutional, immigration, military, marriage, naturalization, mortuary, probate, tax, voter, school, etc.
FamilySearch - Use FamilySearch to access to millions of ancestor profiles and family relationships. Includes cemetery records, birth, death, and marriage records, census records, obituary records, and much more.
Fulton History – Fulton History is a searchable repository of historic newspapers published in New York State and the United States between 1795 and 2007, frequently updated.
Google News - Google News Archive is an extension of Google News providing free access to scanned archives of newspapers and links to other newspaper archives on the web, both free and paid.
Library of Congress – Chronicling America: Historical American Newspapers - Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1756-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Newspapers.com - Newspapers.com is the largest online newspaper archive consisting of 21,000+ newspapers from around the United States. Find marriage announcements, social pages, obituaries, and more. The following local historical newspapers are full text and searchable: Must register for a NYPL library card.
The Troy Record (1943 – 1977)
The Times Record (Troy, NY) (1943 – 1977)
The Post Star (Glens Falls) (1883 – 1922)
NovelNY – Provides free online access to residents of New York State. Full text and searchable. The New York State Library staffs the NOVELny Help Desk Monday through Friday. Staff answer questions regarding access, searching techniques, and troubleshooting.
The New York Times from (1985 – present)
NYS Historic Newspapers – free online access - The NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history. To search the entire collection, use the Search Tab. Or, click on a county to search or browse geographically.
Small Town Newspapers – SmallTownPapers offers 200 million unique records about the PEOPLE, PLACES and EVENTS from small-town America. From the 1850s, right up to recently published editions, you can access all the family information such as obituaries, death notice, birth, life events, careers, politics, business, religion – all of life’s triumphs and tragedies – EXCLUSIVELY!
