CLICK HERE TO ACCESS

Explore and stay informed on local, national, and international topics, people, and events in areas such as business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues and more. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources from around the world to around the corner.

The following newspapers are now accessible in-house or 24/7 remotely using a SSPL Library card. *Newspapers also offered in image format

• The Saratogian (2003 – present) text only
• Times Union* (1986 – present)
• Daily Gazette* (1997 – present) 
• New York Post*
• USA Today*

Stay up-to-date with Alerts:

Setup a daily email alert for new content from newspapers you would like to read daily by clicking the "Create Alert" button.

Please note, the Saratogian may not show today's paper until after 11 am EST.

Accessibility features while reading text mode:

• Listen to articles using text to voice feature and change speed
• Enlarge text size
• Change font, color, background, spacing

Research Tips & Tricks and User Guide:

Black Life in America

• Comprehensive coverage of the African American experience from the early 18th century to the present day
• Sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications
• An easy-to-use online resource—updated daily—for every institution working toward social justice and racial equity

Asian Life in America

• Comprehensive coverage of the Asian American experience from the early 18th century to the present day
• More than 35 million primary documents from diverse sources and perspectives, both historical and contemporary
• A fully searchable online resource, updated daily

Hispanic Life in America

• Comprehensive coverage of the Hispanic American experience from the early 18th century to the present day
• Sourced from more than 17,000 publications, including 700 Spanish-language newspapers and periodicals
• An easy-to-use online resource—updated daily with new material—that illuminates centuries of Hispanic history, culture, and daily life

Current and archived copies of the newspaper are located in Periodicals on the Second Floor. The current issue of WSJ Magazine magazine is also available for in-house reading in Periodicals, with previous issues located in circulating magazine collection of First Floor.

SSPL digital access to Wall Street Journal is available for patrons to access remotely.

• Account creation using an email is required.
• Residency within Saratoga Springs School District required
• Access is available for 3 days. After 3 days, you must use the link from the Library's website reactivate your account.
  • www.sspl.org > Learn & Research > Magazines, Journals, Newspapers > Wall Street Journal
• Translate language to Chinese or Japanese.
• Subscribe to Newsletters & Alerts 

Barron's a weekly publication which focuses on news related to finance, investment, and market developments. It is sister publication to The Wall Street Journal. Current and archived (3 months) copies are available in the Reference Periodicals on the Second Floor.

The Library receives the print subscription to the New York Times, Book Review, Magazine, and Weekly Large Print Edition. Located in Periodicals on the Second Floor.

SSPL Digital Access to New York Times is available through the following databases:

• GALE OneFile News (FREE NovelNY funded) offers full-text access to New York Times (1985 – current) and New York Times Book Review (1985 – current)

• New York Times Searchable Database - ProQuest. Offers full-text access, images, and option to translate articles into 15+ languages.
  • New York Times (1980 – current)
  • New York Times Espanol (July 26, 2020 – current)
  • New York Times Book Review current issues in PDF, viewable in browser. Full text (Jan 3, 1988 – current)
  • New York Times Magazine current issues in PDF, viewable in browser. Full text (Jan 5, 1997 – current)
  • New York Times Historical (1851 – 2019)

The Library receives the print monthly subscription to the The Asian Reporter, located in Periodicals on the Second Floor. The current digital replica is also accessible online. 

PressReader (web-based or app) provides access to current magazines from around the world in full-color, full-page format.  Includes over 2,000 U.S. and international titles. Requires NYPL card to access.

• New York residents ages 13 and older can get a digital library card through the NYPL online card application 
• If you currently have an NYPL account and your card has expired, please do not apply for a new card. Learn more about how to renew your card here.