Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Smart Seaching Strategies: Home

Guide to smart searching in Google and the Deep Web for efficient, authoritative results. Use filters, operators, critical thinking, and searching strategies to take control of finding what you need.

Deep Web Basics

Deep Web Basics

  • The DEEP WEB is called the invisible web because it cannot be searched by search engines such as Google. It is INVISIBLE to the spider technology that searches GOOGLE.
  • This invisibility is caused by two things:
  • DEEP WEB pages are not STATIC web pages, always running, always the same. They are dynamic, created because of a QUERY from an individual. DEEP WEB sites tend to be less commercial or profit based than many surface web sites, although commerce has found its way to the DEEP WEB. Content still free to the skilled researcher is being monetized.

  • Easy examples of DYNAMIC web pages are the hits you get in a public library catalog search or the maps you get in Mapquest.

  • Reason two is that Google can only search what is linked to other sites on the web. DEEP WEB pages are not linked but available or created when you QUERY. Google cannot search beyond a QUERY or more than three pages into a site due to their indexing capacity.

    Deep Web sites tend to be less commercial or profit based than many surface web sites, although commerce has found its way into the DEEP WEB.

    Because of a higher degree of authoritative or reliable information on the DEEP WEB many colleges encourage its use for research. The same is true for researchers in any phase of life. In general terms, Deep Web sites have proven to be three times more reliable proportionately than Google retrieved sites.

    Deep Web information is expansive, almost limitless, specialized for any area of interest and worth the extra effort to search individual portals, and employ strategies to mine the Deep Web.

    Finding DEEP WEB pages can be done from the SURFACE or STATIC web where PORTALS get you into the DEEP WEB.

    Framing a QUERY once you are in these portals enables you to search the DEEP WEB site.

    DATABASES such as those available here at Saratoga Public Library are good examples of query based DEEP WEB sites.

    DEEP WEB sites are include library catalogs, online newspaper, magazine, radio or media sites, archives, primary digitized resources such as old photographs or records.

    DEEP WEB sites fall into categories based on how they are searched. Many use more than one form of searching.

    Search possibilities in the DEEP WEB include the following:

     Deep Web search engines

     Deep Web DIRECTORIES where you choose categories and then more specific categories to get to your interest area

     Deep Web branching hierarchies of related topics where you click into a DEEP level of information in an interest area you identify

     Complex lists of links to DEEP WEB sites selected for authority, quality or interest value by librarians or information specialists in some subject areas

     QUERY driven specialized sites in areas such as medicine or history

     Combinations of query/directory strategies or traditional web page buttons that respond to your choices

Google Searching

Google

Google's Project Owl A Three Pronged Attack on Fake News

https://searchengineland.com/googles-project-owl-attack-fake-news-273700

20 Tips to Use Google Efficiently

https://www.lifehack.org/articles/technology/20-tips-use-google-search-efficiently.html

Google Privacy Page  https://policies.google.com/privacy?hl=en&gl=us

Google Help https://support.google.com/websearch/?hl=en#topic=3378866

Google FTC Settlement - Kid's Privacy  https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/press-releases/2019/09/google-youtube-will-pay-record-170-million-alleged-violations

Google Refine Search Operators  https://support.google.com/websearch/answer/2466433?hl=en

Google Support Filters https://support.google.com/websearch/answer/2466433

Fact Check Now Available

https://www.blog.google/products/search/fact-check-now-available-google-search-and-news-around-world/

The Full List of Google's Advanced Search Operators

https://booleanstrings.com/2018/03/08/the-full-list-of-google-advanced-search-operators/

Google Research Made Easy U. Southern California

http://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/GoogleTips

How to Use Google Like a Pro- Smart Tips and Tricks

http://1stwebdesigner.com/how-to-use-google-pro-tips-tricks/

How to Search on Google

https://support.google.com/websearch/answer/134479?hl=en

Google Operators Search Help

https://support.google.com/websearch/answer/2466433?hl=en

Google- Using Search Filters

https://support.google.com/websearch/answer/142143?hl=en&ref_topic=3081620

Deep Web Information

Information About the Deep Web

Beyond Google: The Invisible Web

http://guides.laguardia.edu/c.php?g=762553&p=5467894

Google Can’t Search the Invisible Web - Cornell

https://blogs.cornell.edu/info2040/2017/10/18/google-cant-search-the-deep-web-so-how-do-deep-web-search-engines-work/

The Invisible Web: What it is, How You Can Find IT

https://www.lifewire.com/invisible-web-how-to-find-it-3482490

The Ultimate Guide to the Deep Web

http://oedb.org/library/college-basics/invisible-web

The Invisible Web-

http://websearch.about.com/od/invisibleweb/a/invisible_web.htm

California State University- YouTube

What’s the Deep Web? And Why the Library?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fyln1cBJmdE

Using the Deep Web for Academic and Scholarly Research

https://www.comparitech.com/blog/vpn-privacy/using-deep-web-search-engines-for-academic-research/

Search Tools

Deep Web Search Engines and Search Tools

https://gbhackers.com/top-10-deep-web-search-engines-which-gives-deep-information-that-you-cant-get-it-in-google-and-bing/

https://www.deepweb-sites.com/deep-web-search-engines/

https://hackercombat.com/the-best-10-deep-web-search-engines/

iseek -http://education.iseek.com/iseek/home.page

Deep Dyve-(Can search a cut and pasted paragraph of text for keywords) http://deepdyve.com/home

RefSeek - https://www.refseek.com/

Virtual LRC - http://www.virtuallrc.com
The Internet Archive https://archive.org/
Start Page https://www.startpage.com/en/

DuckDuckGo- http://duckduckgo.com

Qwant - https://www.qwant.com/

Clusty- Name changed to YIPPY) http://clusty.com

Swisscows- https://swisscows.com/

Sensebot (Cloud Tag Search) -http://www.sensebot.net/sense6.aspx

Peekier- https://peekier.com

Gibiru- http://www.gibiru.com/

Twenty Online Sources You Can Use to Search the Invisible Web http://websearch.about.com/od/invisibleweb/ss/Twenty-Online-Sources-You-Can-Use-to-Search-the-Invisible-Web.htm

Seven Private Search Engines that Respect your Privacy -

https://medium.com/bitclave/7-private-search-engines-that-respect-your-privacy-1116ac33bbb7

8 Privacy Oriented Alternative Search Engines to Google 2018

https://itsfoss.com/privacy-search-engines/

Sweet Search http://www.sweetsearch.com/

SafeSearch https://www.safesearchkids.com/

Surfwax- (also DIRECTORY) - www.surfwax.com

Exalead-http://www.exalead.com/search/

Search.com- http://www.search.com/

+Invisible-web- www.invisible-web.net

Dogpile -http://www.dogpile.com/

Closer Look Search – (Custom searching) http://www.closerlooksearch.com\

Izito- http://www.izito.com

Mamma- http://www.mamma.com

Fazzle-http://www.fazzle.com

Anoox (Social Web search) - www.anoox.com

Power Examples

Deep Web Examples

University of Washington Search the Deep Web https://guides.lib.uw.edu/c.php?g=342031&p=2300192

University of Montana Deep Web https://libguides.msubillings.edu/c.php?g=242182&p=1610149 

St. Louis Community College https://guides.stlcc.edu/deepweb/search

Microsoft Academic  https://academic.microsoft.com/home

Academic Earth http://www.academicearth.org/

HathiTrust http://www.hathitrust.org/

Khanacademy- http://khanacademy.org

Archive.org- http://archive.org/

Google Public Data - http://www.google.com/publicdata/directory

Academic Research

Academic Search Engines

Top List of Academic Search Engines

https://paperpile.com/g/academic-search-engines/

Using Deep Web Search Engines for Academic and Scholarly Research

https://www.comparitech.com/blog/vpn-privacy/using-deep-web-search-engines-for-academic-research/

Academic Research

100 Search Engines for Academic Research
https://www.teachthought.com/learning/100-search-engines-for-academic-research/

15 Academic Search Engines
http://www.rasmussen.edu/student-life/blogs/college-life/15-educational-search-engines/

Top 11 (Trusted and Free) for Academic and Scientific Research
https://www.emergingedtech.com/2013/12/top-11-trusted-and-free-search-engines-for-scientific-and-academic-research/

Voice of the Shuttle - http://vos.ucsb.edu/

Highwire Press- Stanford University- http://highwire.stanford.edu

DOAJ- Directory of Open Access Journals- http://www.doaj.org

Scout Archives- http://scout.wisc.edu/Archives

Montana State University Billings Deep Web Search Engines
https://libguides.msubillings.edu/c.php?g=242182&p=1610149

Western University of Health Science

https://westernu.libguides.com/c.php?g=725547&p=5254329

University of Washington Strategies for Searching the Deep Web
http://guides.lib.uw.edu/c.php?g=342031&p=2300192

Internet Search Tools Deep Web Searching Introduction
https://library.fvtc.edu/Tools/DeepWeb

Spartan Guides- Research Tools- Academic Search

http://sdst.libguides.com/content.php?pid=184760&sid=1794851&search_terms=academic+search

 

Deep Web Directories

Deep Web Directories

Ezilon – http://www.ezilon.com

DMOZ -https://dmoz-odp.org/

Gigablast –http://gigablast.com

Beaucoup!- http://www.beaucoup.com

Searchenginecolossus – http://www.searchenginecolossus.com

Librarian Created Directories/Tools

Internet Public Library 2/ merged with Librarian’s Index to the Internet- https://www.ipl.org/div/subject/

Academic Index- www.academicindex.net

Web Lens- http://www.weblens.org/scholar.html

Voice of the Shuttle - http://vos.ucsb.edu/

Highwire Press- Stanford University- http://highwire.stanford.edu

MetaPress- http://www.metapress.com

Gold Rush- https://goldrush.coalliance.org

DOAJ- Directory of Open Access Journals- http://www.doaj.org

Scout Archives- http://scout.wisc.edu/Archives

 

Databases and Information Portals

Databases and Information Portals 

MedNar - http://mednar.com/mednar/desktop/en/search.html

World Wide Science - https://worldwidescience.org/

BizNar -https://biznar.com/biznar/desktop/en/search.html

Archive.org-https://archive.org/index.php

Freelunch-https://www.economy.com/freelunch/

Yummly - https://www.yummly.com/

LawHelp/NY- https://www.lawhelpny.org/

Case Law-http://www.oyez.org/

VitalRec-http://vitalrec.com/

Health Grades- http://healthgrades.com

airbnb- http://www.airbnb.com

Rxlist- Internet Prescription Drug Index-http://www.rxlist.com/script/main/hp.asp

Million Books Project-http://archive.org/details/millionbooks

Online Newspapers - http://www.onlinenewspapers.com

Allnewspapers-http://www.allnewspapers.com/

National Geographic Map Machine- http://maps.nationalgeographic.com/maps

National Science Digital Library-www.nsdl.org

PMC- National Medical Library-http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/

Perseus Digital Library of the Ancient World -http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/hopper/

Bartleby- www.bartleby.com

Museum of Online Museums-http://www.coudal.com/moom/

History Matters- http://historymatters.gmu.edu

Artcyclopedia- http://www.artcyclopedia.com/index.html

All Music Guide-http://www.allmusic.com/

Internet Movie Database- https://www.imdb.com/

IMSLP Petrucci Music Library- http://imslp.org/wiki/Main-Page

Musipedia- http://www.musipedia.org/

Questia- www.questia.com

Intute- www.intute.ac.uk

Scitopia- www.scitopia.org

Entrez- NCBI/NLM- www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

Saratoga Springs Public Library Databases- Use with your library card-

www.sspl.org/research

Library Spot- www.libraryspot.com

Museum Spot- http://www.museumspot.com/

Genealogy Spot – http://www.genealogyspot.com/

DeathIndexes- http://www.deathindexes.com/

Find a Grave-http://www.findagrave.com/

 

Government Deep Web

Government Sponsored Deep Web Sites

USA Gov https://www.usa.gov/

Saratoga County Free Public Records Directory-http://publicrecords.onlinesearches.com/NY_Saratoga.htm

New York State Library- www.nysl.nysed.gov

NYS Department of Health Date www.health.data.ny.gov

New York State Assessor and Property Tax Records- http://publicrecords.onlinesearches.com/New-York-Assessor-and-Property-Tax-Records.htm

Saratoga County Property Search- http://saratoga.sdgnys.com/search.aspx

National Archives Genealogical Resources -

https://www.archives.gov/research/genealogy

Primary Documents Links NARA etc.

https://guides.lib.jjay.cuny.edu/primary/DigitalArchives

https://www.archives.gov/exhibits

National Archives Start Your Research

https://www.archives.gov/research/genealogy/start-research

National Archives- Military Records and sites of interest to veterans

https://www.archives.gov/research/military/genealogy.html

Governor’s Resources Page for Working Families- http://otda.ny.gov/workingfamilies/

JobsNow through NOVEL NY- http://brainfuse.com/login/csl.asp?a_id=12315DF6&1=

New York State Nursing Home Profile- http://nursinghomes.nyhealth.gov

New York State Professional Misconduct Enforcement System-  http://www.health.ny.gov/professionals/doctors/conduct/

New York Free Public Records (Saratoga County Examples)- http://publicrecords.onlinesearches.com/NY_Saratoga.htm

Saratoga County Assessment Database- http://www.saratogacountyny.gov/subpage.asp?pageid=234

Public  Records Center.com- http://www.publicrecordcenter.com/newyorkpublicrecord.htm

Military Records Revolutionary  War  to Present- http://www.fold3.com/

New York State Library Selected Genealogical Resources-

http://www.nysl.nysed.gov/reference/generef.htm

Science.gov- http://www.science.gov/

GPO Access- http://www.gpoaccess.gov/

Bureau of Consumer Protection- http://www.ftc.gov/bcp

Bureau of Labor Statistics- http://www.bls.gov/

US Department of Justice- Computer Crime, Internet-Related-

http://www.justice.gov/criminal/cybercrime/reporting.htm

Bureau of Economic Analysis – www.bea.gov

FBI Reading Room- http://foia.fbi.gov/room.htm

Bureau of Justice Statistics- http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/

Library of Congress- www.loc.gov

Medlineplus.gov-www.medlineplus.gov

National Biological Information Infrastructure- http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

NLM Gateway- National Library of Medicine- http://gateway.nlm.nih.gov