Skip to Main Content

Women Writers: Pulitzer Prize Winners in Fiction: Home

A listing of all women writers who have won the Pulitzer Prize in the category of Fiction, highlighting titles held by SSPL

Women and the Pulitzer

The Pulitzer Prize in Fiction

The Pulitzer Prize in the Novel category (changed to Fiction in 1948 to include short stories) was first awarded in 1918. Since then, only 32 women have won this particular award, in contrast to over double that amount of male winners. The first woman to win was Edith Wharton in 1921 with The Age of Innocence; the most recent has been Barbara Kingsolver in 2023 with Demon Copperhead. For other award winners and categories, please visit the official Pulitzer Winners page.


SSPL holdings:

SSPL holdings:

Female Winners from Other Years

Ask at the Reference Desk (ext. 304)
or the Information Desk (ext. 210)
to see if a copy can be located
through Interlibrary Loan!