All of these sets are available in the Children's Room Decodables Collection.
 |
Blends & DigraphsBlends & Digraphs by ABDO focuses on blends and digraphs ch, sh, st, th, tr and wh (6 books). Go to Abdo Publishing for supplementary learning materials. |
 |
Bob BooksBob Books now come in small hardcover books: Set 1 Beginning Readers, Set 2 Advanced Readers, Set 3 Word Families, Set 4 Complex Words, Set 5 Long Vowels, Alphabet, Pre-Reading Skills, Phonics for Early Readers, Starting to Read, First Stories, More Beginning Readers and Rhyming Words. Go to Bob Books for supplementary learning materials. |
 |
DK Super PhonicsMy First Decodable Stories are for Ages 4-6. Each set contains 8 books and introduces beginning simple single-letter word sounds. Go to DK Learning for supplementary learning materials. |
 |
Laugh-a-Lot! PhonicsLaugh-a-lot! Phonics offers three different sets: Blends & Digraphs, Long Vowels and Short Vowels. Each set offers 12 books that reinforce key phonics concepts. Go to Scholastic for supplementary learning materials. |
 |
Long VowelsLong Vowels by ABDO focuses on Aa, Ee, Ii, Oo, Uu, Sometimes Yy (6 books). Go to Abdo Publishing for supplementary learning materials. |
Meg and GregThis thick paperback series has special features to help all kids who are leaning to read, but especially kids who have the added challenge of dyslexia or another neurodivergence, or who are learning English as an additional language (6 books). Go to Orca Book Publishers for supplementary learning materials. Go to Meg and Greg's Fact Sheet. |
|
 |
My Decodable ReadersMy Decodable Readers are funny phonics stories for beginning readers (20 books). Go to Crabtree Publishing for supplementary learning materials. |
 |
Phonics FunPhonics Fun by Lerner includes Level 1, which introduces kindergarten readers to consonants, short vowel sounds and long vowel sounds (18 books). We also have some Level 2 and Level 3 books. Go to Lerner Publishing for supplementary learning materials. |
 |
Reading for All LearnersReading for All Learners is considered a basic reading program for K-3 and has been available for several decades, published and funded in 1972 by federal education grants. It also is referred to as BRI/ARI (Beginning Reading Instruction/Advanced Reading Instruction) It includes Level 1 (27 bks), Level 2 (27 bks.) and Level 3 (22 books). It also includes an Instructional Guide. Go to I See Sam for supplementary learning materials. |
 |
Stairway DecodablesStairway Decodables by Capstone includes more than 60 books. Step 1 Short Vowels (8 books), Step 2 Initial and Final Blends (6 books), Step 3 Consonant Digraphs (8 books), Step 4 Silent e, Soft g and e, and trigraphs (12 books), Step 5 Vowel teams (8 books), Step 6 Vowel-r combinations, diphthongs, and long vowels (16 books). Go to Capstone Publishing for supplementary learning materials. |
 |
Vowel TeamsVowel Teams by ABDO focuses on vowel teams ai, ea, ee, oa, oo, ou (6 books). Go to Abdo Publishing for supplementary learning materials. |
 |
Whole PhonicsWhole Phonics includes 45 books. Level 1 Short Vowels (15 books), Level 2 Digraphs (15 books), Level 3 Glued Sounds ccvc (15 books). Go to Whole Phonics for supplementary learning materials. |
 |
HooplaHoopla is a popular streaming service that offers eBooks, audiobooks, comics, music, TV episodes and movies. Included in its content are hundreds of Decodables and phonics-based beginning readers. Use the keyword search terms "decodables" or "phonics" to bring up a list of books. Decodable Sets include Stairway Decodables, Phonics Fun, The Decodables: Code Breakers, the Bob Books and Decodable Books: Read and Succeed. Create a Hoopla account login using the barcode number on the back of your Saratoga Springs Public Library card and start borrowing! |
 |
BRI/ARIBeginning Reading Instruction and Advanced Reading Instruction is a highly researched, easy-to-use reading program that helps children learn to decode. Anyone can use this program to work with a child. The eBook sets and instructional materials are available free online, courtesy of Teach My Kid to Read. The Saratoga Springs Public Library also makes available the reading program in paperback in our Decodables Collection. |
 |
Discover PhonicsApps include: ABC Phonics Song, Preschool Reading & Writing, Intro to Letters, Our Big Alphabet, What does the V Say?, Big Book of X, Y, and Z Pre-K to Kindergarten (2025) |
|
|
Fantastic PhonicsApps include: ABC Phonics Song, Vowel Sounds: Long A, E, I, O, U, Short A, E, I, O, U, What does the P Say? Pre-K to Kindergarten (2025) |
 |
Phonics FactoryApps include: Ending Sounds: Learn to Read Words With ANG, ING, ONG, UNG, ANK, INK, DGE, Phonics and Reading I, Phonics and Reading II, SK Consonant Blend Sound: SK Blend Song and Practice, ST Ending Consonant Blend Sound With Practice Grades K-2 (2025) |
|
|
Phonics FrenzyApps include: Digraphs and Trigraphs, Ending Blends, Rock ’N Learn Phonics Songs, Consonant Blends, Digraphs, Silent e, Learn to Read with Phonics: Diphthongs, Schwa Sound, Ending Sounds, Learn to Read with Phonics: Long Vowels, R-Controlled Vowels, Phonics: Short Vowels, Consonants, Consonant-Vowel-Consonant Words, Phonics Flashcards, Phonics Match, Phonics Songs: Beginning L Blends and R Blends, Phonics Songs: Beginning S Blends and T Blends. Grades K-2 (2025) |
 |
Phonics Fun ZoneApps include: Digraphs: ch, sh, th, ck, ph, gh, wh, Ending Sounds Phonics Songs: ang, ing, ong, ung, ank, ink, dge, Three-Letter Consonant Blends: scr spl spr str, Trigraph Songs: shr, squ, tch Grades K-2 (2025) |
 |
Phonics PowerApps include Big Book of A, Big Book of B, Big Book of C, Learn the ABCs!, Spelling Phonics Pre-K to Kindergarten (2025) |
Kits and games are coming soon!
